PDA

View Full Version : Just Started Help

MustangCobraSVT
01-24-2007, 01:58 AM
I just started FFVIII having only tried playing it when i was a little younger. I started playing and i already have some questions that i couldn't find the answer to anywhere else. So i came here to all you knowlegdable, lovable people. I was trying to play the card game and i understood the jist of it. I get that the higher number will win against the lower one. I don't understand how the plus aspect of it works. The opponent has cards that are in an L shape. Now say that i put a card that has a 3 and a 4 that touches the opponent's card's 2 and 1 respectivily. They way i understood it is that beause they both add up to five that i would get both those cards, but i didn't when i played. How is it really supposed to work. I was also wondering how to get new limit breaks. Do charecters get more as they level up or do they learn them by using them alot, or is there a different way. The last question I had was in the junction menu (under the charecter's picture) it saids something like S/T-D/U and E/L-D/U. Im not sure if that exactly what it said but it was something like that. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance. No spoilers please.

rubah
01-24-2007, 03:05 AM
Is the plus rule actually in effect for the game? If so, it should work like you described it, so long as both the other cards are in the opponent's possession.

You can get limits like this:
Squall- upgrade his weapon
Rinoa- progress in story line and read Pet Pal Magazines, then walk Angelo (this is explained in the game)
Quistis- Use certain items
Zell- Read Combat something magazines
Selphie- They're just kinda all there xD you can open the lid to give you more time to toggle them
Irvine- Buy different ammo:D

MustangCobraSVT
01-24-2007, 04:03 AM
Uhh i see so the plus rule is only sometimes, i get it thanks. Also for Quistis are the items specified somewhere in the game or is it like a guess kind of thing?