PDA

View Full Version : How are FFXII and Tactics alike?

FFI Fan
02-03-2007, 01:44 AM
Hey all,
I am a newbie here, so please don't flame me just yet. I checked the board and I don't think I saw any topics like this so here it goes.
I have been playing FFXII for sometime now, and is there any connection between the two?

Renmiri
02-03-2007, 01:52 AM
They both take place on Ivalice at different periods in history

See more here

http://finalfantasy.wikia.com/wiki/Ivalice

NeoCracker
02-03-2007, 08:11 AM
They Both have Balthier, Well, at least the PSP Tactics Does.

Roto13
02-03-2007, 03:17 PM
They both take place on Ivalice at different periods in history

What? No. They're not the same Ivalice.

McLovin'
02-03-2007, 05:13 PM
Yeah they are. FFT takes place west of Ordallia while FF12 takes place east of Ordallia.

http://www.uploadimage.info/images/80317ivalice.JPG Something like that I assume.

Also this is a timeline from the Ultimania book:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/7/73/Ivalice-time.jpg

The timeline of Ivalice in Final Fantasy Tactics and Final Fantasy XII, provided by Square Enix's official guide book, Final Fantasy XII Ultimania Omega. Translation is as follows:

Final Fantasy XII History (brown)

* 1st Upper Box: Unknown Era - The Occuria reside in Giruvegan.
* 2nd Upper Box: Old Valendia 1 - Establishment of the Galtean Federation.
* 3rd Upper Box: Old Valendia 394 - The Galtean Federation breaks apart.
* 4th Upper Box: Old Valendia 706 - Final Fantasy XII takes place.
* 5th Upper Box: Several decades after Old Valendia 706 - Female St Ajora establishes a new religion.

Grey box: Are they the same person?

Final Fantasy Tactics History (blue)

* 1st Lower Box: Unknown Era - 12 Knights kills a demon, and rescues Ivalice.
* 2nd Lower Box: 1200 years before the Middle Ages - St Ajora establishes the Glabados religion.
* 3rd Lower Box: Unknown Era - A catastrophe befalls the civilization at this age.