PDA

View Full Version : A potentially hard question, one to which many may not know the answer.

Darth Anarcus
02-16-2007, 04:31 PM
Sony has recently addressed many problems the PS3 was facing. According to this (http://arstechnica.com/journals/thumbs.ars/2007/1/24/6735) article, the issue regarding PS1 and PS2 games looking gow-aweful when played on PS3 has been corrected via a downloadable update. This is great news for me personally, as I originally intended to buy a PS3 but keep my PS2 around for this reason. However, now it seems that I'll be able to trade in my PS2 towards the purchase of a PS3 and save some money.

Now here's my question: when I started playing my PS1 games on PS2, Gameshark had a few issues, the most prominent being that PS1 Gameshark codes that started with the number 5 didn't work on PS2. (Fortunately, there was a website at the time where you could enter a "5" code, and it "splits" it into a few hundred lines of "8" codes that would achieve the same effect as the original "5" code. An example of this would be FF8's All Item code, which, as a "5" code, doesn't work on PS2. I obtained this long-assed "8" code--which had to be entered into four parts on my Gameshark--which achieved the same effect. Unfortunately, I no longer have that URL.:() So does anyone know if Gamesharks from previous generations have any problems working on the PS3?

Renmiri
02-16-2007, 05:10 PM
Gameshark ?!?! Tsk, tsk... Never used the thing. C'mon, you are older now, surely you don't need a gameshark anymore!

Besides, you can import the memory cards, so all you have saved comes with it, including the gameshark cheats. (You will need to buy a $20 USB/ Memory card adapter to do the import)

My PS2 games play wonderfully on my PS3 but I'm having a hard time with the wireless net of it. It works for 20 minutes then goes down. All I could do so far was system updates :(

Darth Anarcus
02-16-2007, 05:59 PM