PDA

View Full Version : Writer would appreciate some feedback

MJH
06-19-2007, 08:52 AM
Hi everyone,

I’m very happy to say that I’ve just had my debut novel published and would love to swap thoughts and opinions on what makes a compelling read. With this in mind, what do you think attracts a potential reader? Would it be the front cover like mine below or is it more likely to be on the strength of the synopsis? Just how important is the cover art and what really determines our decision to invest the time to actually sit down and read a book? As a new author, I feel these questions are very important, so any insights you can give will be greatly appreciated.

http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/9805/magiclandsamazonfe8.th.jpg (http://img150.imageshack.us/my.php?image=magiclandsamazonfe8.jpg)

eestlinc
06-19-2007, 08:59 AM
Congratulations on being published. I don't generally choose books by cover art, but lately all I've been reading have been law casebooks. They don't come with cover art. :D

If you want critique of your writing, check out the <a href=http://forums.eyesonff.com/writers-corner/>Writer's Corner forum</a>. Discussion of books in general can take place in the lounge, though.

CimminyCricket
06-19-2007, 09:00 AM
I usually only read books by authors that I know, or have been recommended.

Rengori
06-19-2007, 09:32 AM
I usually only read books by authors that I know, or have been recommended.
That being said, in the event I'm just picking out something completely new, cover art and synopsis are both important factor in my decision to buy or not. If the cover art doesn't look interesting though, I probably won't read the synopsis. If the synopsis isn't interesting, than I probably won't read the book. So both are very important when I'm deciding on new books that aren't recommended or by authors/series I know.

And congrats for getting published.

MJH
06-19-2007, 10:34 AM