PDA

View Full Version : Can you ever get a "birth language"-feeling for a second language?

Peter_20
07-25-2007, 05:45 PM
Alright, let me clarify:
I've been studying English for almost 15 years, and I can handle this language fairly well alright; but I still need to put more effort into my reading English compared to Swedish.
Whenever I see a Swedish text, I go: "wow, I can understand every single word just from looking at them; I see the sounds!"; when I read English I do understand most things, and particularly so if it's general conversations; but I still need to focus a tad bit more on each word; if I don't understand one word, chances are I will get lost.
To put it short, English is harder to read and keep up with, as it requires more effort on my side.

So, do you think you can eventually earn a very comfortable feeling for a foreign language, or is this feeling unique to what you learn from your very first years in life? :p

Breine
07-25-2007, 07:28 PM
If you move to another country, learn the language and therefore do not speak your first language for a long time you will naturally feel more comfortable with the second language.

Take my aunt and uncle for example. They are both Danish, born and raised there, but they eventually moved to Sweden and lived there for many years before they moved to Germany, where they have now lived for a long time. They do both still speak Danish, but they unwillingly mix a lot of Swedish and German words and phrases into it.

daggertrepe
07-25-2007, 07:30 PM
I don't know. All I know is that you can give me any word in an everyday conversation, and I would know it, and probably more.

jrgen
07-25-2007, 07:48 PM
You've been studying English for 15 years? That's some crazy :skull::skull::skull::skull:.

I think I speak English in a fairly decent manner, but I could never reach the fluency I have when speaking Swedish. Perhaps if I moved to an English speaking country for a few years, but I'm not doing that.

Araciel