PDA

View Full Version : What were the characteristics of your favorite teacher?

Cid
08-12-2007, 07:19 AM
Since I'm a teacher and I want to be memorable, I'd like to know.

For the record, I teach seventh grade World History.

Yamaneko
08-12-2007, 07:30 AM
My favorite teachers were the ones that wanted or at least seemed to want to be in the classroom everyday. There were too many of them that were their for the paycheck and it showed.

And speaking from hindsight as a more mature individual, don't be their friends. We had those teachers and that quality was exploited until the entire classroom experience had been stripped away in favor of accommodating the needs of the students instead of the requirements of the curriculum.

Just be there, enjoy it and share that with your students.

Ramza Beoulve
08-12-2007, 07:37 AM
First thing, try not to make your class a monotone speech. Try to make it a little interactive.

But about characteristics... well, maybe to be careful, consider your students opinions, don't be so harsh but also don't be so sweet. Also be gentle, with a fair load of homework. In your classes, make your students participate with some questions, opinions about situations in history, and maybe sometimes recreate the situations. But yeah, don't try to be friends with them, they'll become lazy if you do.

Well, to tell you the truth, that were the characteristics of my favorite teacher. So yeah.

Yamaneko
08-12-2007, 07:44 AM
How closely do you have to follow the curriculum, Sean? I know that at the middle school level there's still a tendency to skip over some historical details in favor of the larger picture which sometimes tends to highlight European accomplishments while portraying other societies only in relationship to European history.