PDA

View Full Version : I'm a total HTML newb, here x.x

Jessweeee♪
08-16-2007, 10:28 PM
As you can see, I've been playing with drop down boxes...I'm starting up a freeweb and I was going to litter an entire page with them XD

Would any of you know how I can get a different result for each option?

Xander
08-16-2007, 11:15 PM
<FORM>
<SELECT name="quotemenu">
<OPTION>Character Quote of the Week<BR><BR></OPTION>
<OPTION onClick="alert('Yuna! This is our story! Now let\'s see this thing through together.')">Tidus</OPTION>
<OPTION onClick="alert('I like Tidus')">Yuna</OPTION>
<OPTION onClick="alert('I like Blitzball')">Wakka</OPTION>
<OPTION onClick="alert('I wear belts')">Lulu</OPTION>
</SELECT>
</FORM>

Is this what you mean? I haven't used these for ages but I just changed the html around a bit. You had onChange on the Select (whole menu) so I guess it appeared when anything changed. I made an OPTION for each character, changed onChange to onClick and put on each one so it alerts when you click each one.

I dunno if I did it with exact proper code but it seems to work :p

<*FORM*>
<*SELECT name="quotemenu"*>
<*OPTION*>Character Quote of the Week<*BR*><*BR*></*OPTION*>
<*OPTION onClick="alert('Yuna! This is our story! Now let\'s see this thing through together.')"*>Tidus</*OPTION*>
<*OPTION onClick="alert('I like Tidus')"*>Yuna<*/OPTION*>
<*OPTION onClick="alert('I like Blitzball')"*>Wakka</*OPTION*>
<*OPTION onClick="alert('I wear belts')"*>Lulu<*/OPTION*>
<*/SELECT*>
<*/FORM*>

Remove all the *s

Jessweeee♪
08-16-2007, 11:18 PM
Okie dokie, thanks n.n

Baloki
08-17-2007, 08:16 AM
<FORM>
<SELECT name="quotemenu">
<OPTION>Character Quote of the Week<BR><BR></OPTION>
<OPTION onClick="alert('Yuna! This is our story! Now let\'s see this thing through together.')">Tidus</OPTION>
<OPTION onClick="alert('I like Tidus')">Yuna</OPTION>
<OPTION onClick="alert('I like Blitzball')">Wakka</OPTION>
<OPTION onClick="alert('I wear belts')">Lulu</OPTION>
</SELECT>
</FORM>