PDA

View Full Version : CT: Interesting Strategies/Parties Against Lavos

odyssey
09-05-2007, 08:55 AM
I'm new at this message board, so I don't know if this has been done before or not, but I thought it'd be cool to see various strategies/parties against Lavos in Chrono Trigger that may be interesting or particularly creative.

Here are two that I've thought of:

The "Healing is for Wusses" Strategy

Lucca, Frog, Ayla

Concept:

This team is all about hitting Lavos hard and fast. When Frog and Ayla's HP are low, rather than waste turns healing HP, Lucca + Frog's Frog Flare and Ayla's Dino Tail do some of the most devastating damage in the game, far surpassing any other double and single techs. I would even go as far as to say that Frog Flare can surpass triple techs under the right conditions. While this may leave you vulnerable at times (especially if you run out of MP or if Lavos manages to break your protect status seal), the idea is to kill Lavos so fast that it doesn't become a problem.

Basic Strategy:

Begin with Lucca casting Flare, Frog casting Water 2, and Ayla using Triple Kick. If Lucca's HP becomes critical, heal her. Do NOT heal Frog or Ayla, however. Use a revive w/o any other healing on Frog/Ayla if either of them dies. The lower your party's level, the more revives you'll need. (I've used this party with everyone at lvl 80 and easily killed Lavos w/o healing or reviving anyone. Even Lucca.)

Because Frog's magic is so weak (unless you've been pumping him with magic tabs), at about 70% HP, Frog Squash already does more damage than Water 2. At this point, Frog + Lucca should start casting Frog Flare instead.