PDA

View Full Version : Damned WEP!

demondude
10-22-2007, 12:18 PM
I recently purchased the legend of zelda phantom hourglass on the DS,I also found out that wi-fi is free but there is a problem.
The wi-fi on the DS only allows WEP security and I have WPA.
I don't want to change the settings or buy the USB connector.

Any way around this?

Discord
10-22-2007, 12:45 PM
I'm not familiar with the DS, but if it really only supports WEP, I don't think you can. Those are two completely different encryption modes. But as I've already said, I'm no expert when it comes to DS, so feel free to correct me if I'm wrong. (like you wouldn't anyway?:tongue:)

rubah
10-22-2007, 03:57 PM
well, do you really have to have encryption on your router? You could just turn it off, and a lot of them will let you pick between the two modes.

Baloki
10-22-2007, 04:42 PM
A firmware update has been released that enables WPA (I don't think it's official though so you'll need to google it), why not try that? Don't switch to WEP as it's flawed and rubbish!

o_O
10-22-2007, 11:54 PM
You don't need any kind of encryption on your wireless, be it WEP, WPA or WPA2. Each IP packet that your router sends needs to be encrypted before transmission and decrypted afterwards, which adds to the processing time (or latency) of your connection. That's why I don't use it.

Here's what I do instead:
1. Switch off SSID broadcasting in your router. You know when you need to connect to a wireless network for the first time, you need to scan for the network name? If someone tries that with your network when you have SSID broadcasting off, your network won't appear in the list of available ones.