PDA

View Full Version : My chinese friend wants to learn english

Carl the Llama
01-14-2008, 06:17 AM
so I told her that she should read books, so what im looking for is a book that can help her learn english, a story book and not the english dictionary lol.

xiexie for your help =D

louby_4eva
01-14-2008, 06:17 PM
Does she actually know any English? If someone handed me a chinese book and expected me to be able to learn Chinese from it, I think my head would implode.

Smile and Be happy :love:

Bahamut2000X
01-14-2008, 06:56 PM
Get a text book teaching English. There's loads of books/websites dedicated to just learning languages.

I myself self taught myself a little German from an old textbook my mom had from college. And I taught myself one of the Japanese alphabets and a good bit of vocabulary just from an English to Japanese dictionary.

I'd say if their starting from scratch then get a text book or a dictionary and build up some understanding of vocabulary, context, and basic grammar before trying to read story books and such.

rubah
01-14-2008, 09:29 PM
Children's dictionaries (with pictures) should be helpful. I have a copy of 'mini debutants', which is a french dictionary for children, and not only does it teach me words i don't know, but it is adorable xD

Tallulah
01-14-2008, 09:40 PM
I had a Chinese friend in primary school who joined in year 2 unable to speak any English, and by the time she finished Year 4 she was almost word perfect. Luckily there were two Chinese girls I had known since kindergarten who were able to help her out.

Also, when my dad was based in Hong Kong in the RAF, he knew a lot of the officers who had their families with them, had 5-6 year-old children who could only speak Cantonese, because they had been mainly around housekeepers, who were mostly Chinese nationals. Months after their fathers had been stationed back in the UK, they had picked up English really quickly, and had sadly forgotten most of the Chinese language.