PDA

View Full Version : Let's Talk About Limits

rubah
03-05-2008, 06:54 AM
Oh man I hate them.

After playing with my calculator, I have found out that the limit as x->∞ of the arctan(x) is π/2, the arcsec(x) as x->1 = ∞, and little else.

Anything else I should be aware of before trying to do crazy-seeming Improper Integrals problems that look divergent but they actually converge because goshdarn it, wouldn't you just know the arctan(∞) happens to be π/2?

Momiji
03-05-2008, 08:01 AM
Okay...what the hell is this? I think my brain just short-circuited reading that.

I'm not good at math.

Vivisteiner
03-05-2008, 08:52 PM
Wiki can help: Trigonometric functions - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trigonometric_function)

Because I cant. What level is this around?

And what the hell is up with all this trigonometry crap? It was so easy when you just had sin, cos and tan. Then they add csc and cot which is just about all right. And now they have arcsin, arctan, arccos, arccsc, arcsec, arccot!

Whats the point?

Is it just for simplification or something?

Flying Mullet
03-05-2008, 08:57 PM
Wiki can help: Trigonometric functions - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trigonometric_function)

And what the hell is up with all this trigonometry crap? It was so easy when you just had sin, cos and tan. Then they add csc and cot which is just about all right. And now they have arcsin, arctan, arccos, arccsc, arcsec, arccot!

Whats the point?

arcsin is the inverse function of sin; arctan is the inverse function of tan, etc... Once you understand the relationships between them, they're quite simple, actually. And csc = (1/sin), cot = (1/tan) which are pretty straight forward too.

rubah
03-05-2008, 09:58 PM
oh just wait until you get to the hyperbolic trig functions :sarcasm: