PDA

View Full Version : What Is Your Favorite Art Medium? Show us! NOW!

Rye
04-09-2008, 01:21 AM
As an artist, I know how wonderful it feels to find a medium that you just click with, and are able to see fantastic results with. My favorite medium is oil pastel. I love pastels in general, but chalks are a bit messy, and irritate me when they get smudgy. Oils make for great mark making, which is one of my favorite things about my own personal style, and if you get water soluble oil pastels, you can water paint! :bigsmile:

My whole AP Art portfolio has been done in pastels. My favorite pieces are:

http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w200/ryechuuu/fp_completed.jpg

http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w200/ryechuuu/apartblueyellow.jpg

Show us an example that highlights your mastery in the medium of your choice! Paint, table, whatever. :bigsmile:

Rocket Edge
04-09-2008, 02:40 AM
Beautiful pieces Rye.

I don't nessesarily have a favourite art medium, I just usually go along with what i'm comfortable using. I enjoy using inks, clays, & spray paint as a hobby, but whenever I do a piece I always seem to revert back to graphite or colour pencils. It's just simply what i'm most comfortable doing. Saying that I have done some work other than graphite work, but not nearly to the ammount of what I have done without it.

An example of me mixing my graphite & colouring pencils would be the Omega Weapon piece. Yeah, it shows my skills off from both mediums I think. Of course, its only one style of drawing in terms of line and tone, but I believe it to be my authentic style anyways.
http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/8723/omega2pw1.jpg
Looking at that actualy makes me realise how long its been since I uploaded something. I should do a drawing and upload soon.

rubah
04-09-2008, 05:58 AM
A preface: