PDA

View Full Version : What RAM for this Motherboard?

Croyles
05-17-2008, 05:40 PM
This is what I know about my motherboard:

Asus M2NSLI Deluxe AM2 ATX-Support AMD Socket AM2 CPU- AMD Live Ready-NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI

Currently I have two of these RAMS:

512MB, 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-4200

And I want to upgrade something really fast. Does my motherboard support DDR3? Can someone suggest something?

Bahamut2000X
05-17-2008, 05:53 PM
I'm far from an expert, but I just recently upgraded myself. My mother board is sporting a pair of Corsair DDR2 1 gig sticks, for a total of 2 gigs. Depending on what you do on your computer that should be more then enough and was only about 50 bucks with shipping and handling.

Croyles
05-17-2008, 06:01 PM
Im gonna have about 4gigs but im asking about the memory type. Thanks anyway.

rubah
05-17-2008, 06:15 PM
the manufacturer's page doesn't mention ddr3, so my guess is 'probably not'
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. (http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=101&l3=301&model=1160&modelmenu=1)

o_O
05-18-2008, 01:06 AM
No, it doesn't support DDR3. Upgrading to DDR3 memory wouldn't really give you a speed improvement anyway. You should upgrade CPU for a big speed boost.

You can get a memory performance improvement by getting a dual-channel memory kit instead of one stick.

DDR2's expensive enough as it is anyway. :p

crono_logical
05-18-2008, 11:36 PM
Don't forget you can't go above 4 GB if you're running a 32-bit version of Windows XP/Vista :p

Mirage
05-19-2008, 12:24 AM
Um, 4 GBs of DDR2 PC6400 costs like $70, and that's 2x2GB too.
But yeah, DDR3 is a definite no, as it's not common even on recent motherboards.