PDA

View Full Version : Rubber Band AI

JaytodaP
06-28-2008, 10:22 PM
Yesterday, I was finally able to find myself a copy of Mario Kart Wii. I was having fun for the first 15 minutes I was playing it, but that would soon turn into blind rage and anger which we be taken out on every living thing I saw.

Now i have lots of Mario Kart experience so I played a Grand Prix on 100cc to start out on. I was came in first for the first 3 races, but then the last race, it hit me.

Every cuss word you could imagine, arms flailing every which way. I think I punched my brother but I don't know.

I was in first place by a mile. in the blink of an eye, I wasn't even on the track. Lightning and pow blocks activate as i take jumps. Blue and red shell rape and then being ruthlessly run down by bullet bill. For its own sake, I had to shut off my Wii.

Now, I have played Mario Kart extensively on the DS, N64 and SNES and basically unlocked nearly everything in all of them, so It's not that I'm bad at them. The computer definitely speeds up when you take the lead, and you have nothing but a damn banana to block a shell barrage.

I'm all for challenge and a hard game, and Rubber Band AI is something I've dealt with in past games, including Mario Kart series, and Blitz Football. It would never really infuriate me. I mean in Mario Kart 64 it might have been a close race sometimes, but I wouldn't get lightninged, pow blocked, red shell, then green shelled in 2 seconds. To me it just seems a little lazy. Maybe I'm wrong but don't you think they could have had an actually strategy rather than just "blue shell the crap out of the person in first place."

In first through third place, you get bananas and green shells. Everywhere else you get the best Items. Now i could understand it in multiplayer so your less skilled friends have a chance against your most skilled friends, but I don't want to deal with it in single player.