PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding stats + Junction

Pancakes
11-05-2008, 10:48 AM
Hi guys, I recently started playing FFVIII again and unlike last time when I was young, I started to understand a little on how Junction works. It's quite a wonder how level doesn't affect much of the gameplay for this series instead you should work on your Junction more.

So anyways, I'm at Disc One at the moment at Timbers, I'm just wondering how do I max my stats like Str to 255? ATM my Str is only 21 and it's slotted with Fire. Can anyone enlighten me on what magic should I equip to have high stats so I can do high potential damage? I'm not liking my damages now =(. How and where to get the certain Magic would be appreciated too! :D
*I did some researching and pros advices that do not level your character up, use the Card ability instead and I did follow the advice.. though I'm level 11 now because of some mistakes*

Thanks for the help, guys! Any additional info that might be able to help me are welcomed to.. hehe

Edit: I have just one more question, how do people avoid EXP-ing when theres fight vs soldiers where carding them is impossible... ugh

Marshall Banana
11-05-2008, 02:49 PM
Draw magic from enemies and refine cards and items for magic! Spells like Curaga boost stats a lot, and you can refine Tents into Curaga spells using Siren's L Mag-RF ability, I think - so, Curaga is a spell you can obtain now.

Earning cards via Triple Triad games is an easy method of obtaining cards that refine into useful items (which refine into useful spells). Be sure that your GFs learn their RF abilities!

Your characters can cast Break on soldiers to end battles with them without earning EXP. One Cockatrice card refines into one Cockatrice Pinion (via Quezacotl's Card Mod ability), which refines into twenty Breaks (via Diablos' ST Mag-RF ability), if I'm not mistaken. There are Cockatrices outside of Timber (on the map), and Cockatrice cards are common cards in Triple Triad games.