PDA

View Full Version : Nethicite and Atomic Power

the AJman
11-10-2008, 03:54 AM
Today I was watching a show on T.V about the crew of the Enola Gay retelling the experiences during the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. After watching the show I started playing a little bit of XII and as I was playing I was thinking about the show I found a lot of similarities between Nethicite from XII and the atomic bomb. First when we actually see the true power of Nethicite being used for the first time it was a massive explosion that wiped out an entire imperial fleet demonstrating very clearly that these were very destructive weapons. Theirs also the case with Nabudis where not only did the initiative explosion destroy the kingdom, but the tremedous amount of energy that lingered on afterwards mutated whatever life was left there, very similar to radiation after the atomic bombs went off. Of course the actual mutation were quite different from eachother, Nethicite change the local wild life and survivors into monsters, and the atomic bombs caused people to develop cancer, birth defects, and other equally bad things. Nethicite was also looked at as the weapon that would win the war for either the empire or Dalmasca and change the world, a very similar role that the atomic bomb played in the real world, and like the atomic bomb it was a weapon that was looked at as extremely dangerous and had the capablity of destroy entire civilizations.

I'm just curious if anyone else pickup on these similarities, and I wonder if any of it was intended or just a coincedence. I just thought this would be an interesting topic.

Wolf Kanno
11-10-2008, 08:12 AM