PDA

View Full Version : qwerty's guide to taking tests!

qwertysaur
01-24-2009, 02:23 AM
As some of you know, I am a part time tutor in Math, and the first two problems about 90% of the people I tutor are completely unrelated to math at all, but are instead Confidence based. I randomly decided to post what I tell my students here, hope they help you if your worried over a test.

Test Taking Tips
Everyone takes tests in their own style, and sometimes you just have to experiment until you get one that fits you. But there are a few tricks that can help anybody to take a test.

Don't over study/cram. Cramming the night before a test is probably the worst thing you can do, for a multitude of reasons, such as you sacrifice sleep to cram.
Instead of cramming, do a quick review every day for 15-30 minutes. It's easier to find the time when it's in short bursts instead of long study marathons, and you remember more as well.
Mix up your studying. Don't always study question 1 first. Keeping yourself surprised will help you learn, and you can see what you need more explanation on.
Do your homework. Homework is important, because it is actually just assigned studying.
Eat and Sleep. These two are often lost when people try and cram the night before a test. Your body needs rest and food. Never sacrifice these, they are very important.
Find your best approach to studying. It can vary from simply doing practice problems to making flashcards. Whatever helps you learn is what you should do.
Ask questions in class. If you don't understand a topic, ask for another explanation. There is probably 3 other people in the class with the same question, but they are too afraid to ask. If you feel uncomfortable asking in class, try asking after class or after the day ends.

Then comes the day of the actual test. Here is my advice for testing time.