PDA

View Full Version : Pro Tools

Shiny
02-07-2009, 01:59 AM
I've recently shot a short film for school and there was a problem with the audio for one scene. In the background of the scene you can hear a very loud refrigerator rumbling. I've spoken to some professional editors about this and they say that it is possible to get rid of that rumbling, yet still be able to keep the dialogue via Pro Tools. The thing is, I've never used the program before and I'm not sure how to go about eliminating it on there. Are any of you familiar with this program and could you give me tips about fixing this problem? Thanks in advance. :freak:

crono_logical
02-07-2009, 10:32 AM
I'd probably use Audacity (http://audacity.sourceforge.net/) instead, it's an open source audio editor, and apply a noise remover filter of some sort to achieve the result you're after :p If it's anything like when I've done this stuff in CoolEdit, you select a "silent" sample in the clip containing the rumble only, to allow the software to get a profile of the noise you don't want, then you can apply that filter to the whole track to remove the background noise. You may need to experiment a few times with stuff like how strong to apply the filter etc. to see what sounds acceptable in the end :p

Rostum
02-07-2009, 11:33 AM
I absolutely love Pro Tools, but then again I've been trained in it. There are definitely some very cool noise reduction plug-ins, but unless you understand theory on audio and what knobs control what part of the sound envelope, then it can be a very daunting thing.

You could try Audacity, like Crono said. I've never used it, but if it has a simplified noise reduction plug-in then you might be able to get away with it. But again, I have no idea what the tools are like in that program; my guess is they are simplier because it is open source and free.

Slothy
02-07-2009, 11:50 AM