PDA

View Full Version : C++ compiler for Windows

Rantz
06-11-2009, 10:26 AM
Not that there's a lack of choices, I'd just like to hear what you guys consider to be the best choice. I'm fine with either full IDEs or just simple compilers/builders to team with Notepad++ or whatever.

blackmage_nuke
06-11-2009, 10:42 AM
I personally like Visual C++ but i havent done anything too extravagant with c++ besides some really basic directx so im not really an expert.

Flying Mullet
06-11-2009, 11:12 AM
I haven't used much since Borland during my college days during the late 90s, so I'm afraid I don't have much help to offer. I can tell you that for a DOS based compiler, Borland was the :bou::bou::bou::bou:. :p

NeoTifa
06-12-2009, 01:37 AM
I haven't used C++ in a while but I used Visual C++

o_O
06-12-2009, 02:19 AM
Almost all of my C++ development has been on Linux, so the gcc (g++) compiler has been my favourite in conjunction with the Anjuta IDE.

On Windows though, I learnt in Visual C++, which I pretty much hated 'cause I don't like Microsoft's programming ideals (type a little bit, drag some window controls here and there, click 35 times then type a little more) so I switched to Dev C++. It's old but it's more the style of IDE that I'm used to, where typing everything out is the norm moreso than VC++. And it comes bundled with the mingw compiler, which is just dandy.

Shoeberto
06-12-2009, 03:15 AM
Eclipse (http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/) is where it's at, dawg. I used to shun doing Eclipse because it's built on Java, but it's a damn fine application. Dev-C++ is so freaking antiquated and buggy these days, just don't bother. And MS Visual C++, the last I used it, doesn't adhere to the ANSI C++ standards, which means learning Microsoft C++, not C++ that everything else ever uses.