PDA

View Full Version : Don't look down

The Jamie Star Scenario
08-14-2009, 01:02 PM
I was just wondering how good you guys are at touch typing. Really, I'm pretty bad at it; my right hand tends to totally dominate nearly all the time often moving into-what should be-the left hands domain. And my ring finger is generally forgotten. It feels so unnatural to type with it for me.

I honestly do think it makes me a less efficient typist than I should be considering I have been using computers for about 15 years now at least. I didn't really learn to be able to type without looking until I was about 13 if I recall. And even now I feel like I still don't know exactly where the keys are on the keyboard relative to f and j so sometimes I loss my place and I just end up writing rubbish. So I'm going to see if I can find some sort of program to teach me how to be a better typist, any tips?

Anyway, how good a touch typist are you? How did you learn, do you have your own way or do you stick strictly to always having you fingers for left: gfdsa, right: hjkl; ?

Rye
08-14-2009, 01:06 PM
Okay, this is me typing without looking down at all. I tend to make spelling errors a lot before i EDIT THEM anyway, sothis probably won't be super pretty. I'm not terrible st it. I probably type a bit too much for my own good! Tiom uch computer time, I guess. Okay, I guess I'll end this post about now. Let's see the carnage!

Croyles
08-14-2009, 01:09 PM
Okay, this is me typing without looking down at all. I tend to make spelling errors a lot before i EDIT THEM anyway, sothis probably won't be super pretty. I'm not terrible st it. I probably type a bit too much for my own good! Tiom uch computer time, I guess. Okay, I guess I'll end this post about now. Let's see the carnage!

that was hardly any carnage there at all. i think im usually pretty good at typing without looking but i hardly ever do i9t so im probably out of practice. oh yeah and this is me doing it now.

xXsarahXx