PDA

View Full Version : Used Game Challenge

Skyblade
10-27-2009, 04:54 PM
I recently picked up a used copy of Golden Sun: The Lost Age from Gamestop, and when I started playing, I decided to take a look at the old save file still on it. He had saved right before one of the optional super-bosses, the Star Magician, and had apparently given up after being unable to defeat him, prompting him to sell the game.

So, I decided to have a go at it. I reviewed his party set up (underlevelled and with too few Djinn, but decently geared), and give the fight a try.

It was a very interesting experience, and it forced me to approach the battle in a very different way from my usual fighting style. Fortunately, he had Shade and Granite, as well as PP regenerating items on his party's healer, but the fight was very long, hard, and fun. And I did eventually kill him. :)

Have any of you tried a challenge like that before, and what are your experiences with it?

Quindiana Jones
10-27-2009, 10:19 PM
I like getting car racing games like NFS and looking at the old saves people have. It's interesting to see other's ideas of good looking and cool. I like doing this with any games that have customisation of some sort, to be honest.

Shattered Dreamer
10-27-2009, 11:26 PM
I can't say I've had the same experience as you guys but myself & my flatmate used too both play manager mode in Fifa 09 & we used to watch each other to pick up on different strategies, players to buy in cheap who get better quickly. Twas great craic!

Also myself & another mate used to swap AOE 1-3 saved games of games in progress that was also pretty awesome!

NorthernChaosGod
10-28-2009, 12:44 AM
I've never bought a cartridge game used before, so I can't say that I have.

In a similar vein, I've done plenty of those RPG challenges like no magic, starting equipment only, etc.

Iceglow
10-28-2009, 01:07 AM