PDA

View Full Version : Instructions

Rye
12-26-2009, 08:35 PM
Are you good at following verbal/written instructions? I always find it interesting to see what kind of learning styles people are inclined towards.

My biggest annoyance with crafting (with both sewing and origami) is that I have a hard time interpreting the instructions. There are so many books I want to buy that I can't buy because I'd never be able to understand the instructions. I think I learn best with photos. The majority of the sewing projects and origami projects I can do best, by memory, are the ones that are almost all color pictures. I can just bring up the picture taken for each step mentally and copy it until I'm done. I only wish more books and websites did this!

What about you?

Momiji
12-26-2009, 08:44 PM
I'm not very good with written or spoken instructions. Show me by example though, and I'll learn a lot faster.

Shadowdust
12-26-2009, 09:49 PM
I honestly need a mix of written instructions along with some sort of example. Doing one or the other simply leaves me confused, unless the written instructions are so detailed that I can see it in my head. I almost always fail with verbal instructions though.

Tavrobel
12-26-2009, 10:03 PM
I'm good at following instructions, oddly enough. Doesn't matter how they were delivered.

qwertysaur
12-26-2009, 10:23 PM
My mom gave me a bad habit of improvising a bit too much. Sometimes it comes out fantastically, other times a disaster. :p

Rye
12-26-2009, 10:48 PM
Hahaha, I'm always improvising too - especially while baking. There was only one time when it came out not so great. But usually it tastes better - to me at least. Bananas and brown sugar can work in (almost) any baked good! :kaolaugh:

Shlup
12-26-2009, 11:37 PM
I can do anything because I am magic. Pictures or even video are best though. I like recipes from Pioneer Woman 'cause she puts a lot of pictures in her instructions.

rubah
12-26-2009, 11:48 PM