PDA

View Full Version : Inverted controls

Yeargdribble
01-01-2010, 06:51 AM
So for as long as I can remember, I've played games with an inverted camera control. This works for 3rd and 1st person games. Many of these games have been with the mouse and at some point I started playing some even on consoles. There's always been an option to invert both X and Y.

Well, I picked up Bioshock for PS3. I've played it before on PC, but just wanted and easy copy I could pop into the PS3 and play with my wife. This is the first game that I've ever not had the option to switch. I can invert Y, but not X.

Naturally I went trying to read about this on the web. There are people in both camps spewing acerbic comments at one another on the topic. I didn't realize there was so much hate, but like the console wars... so much like religion... it seems people just have to find a camp to settle in on and hate all that is different.

So I was wondering if non-inverted has become the standard. I've missed out on a lot of console gaming over the past 5 or more years and been mostly at my mouse and keyboard. However, I seem to remember that plenty of older games had inversion by default. Camera control in FFXII (3rd person) was inverted by default even. When and why did this change? Why is non-inverted the standard now or is it even?

As a sidenote, I'm finding Bioshock one step away from unplayable due to this. It's difficult to use a single control scheme for nearly 2 decades and then be forced to switch. My brain needs so major rewiring.

Slothy
01-01-2010, 12:27 PM
When and why did this change? Why is non-inverted the standard now or is it even?

The first question is pretty simple. I think the original SOCOM on the PS2 was the first game where I saw this control scheme as the default on a console. I didn't bother changing it at the time so I got used to it and I can't play inverted very well anymore.