PDA

View Full Version : BSOD

Bastian
01-23-2010, 10:57 PM
My first ever BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) last night.

And it's all my fault.

Being an American without cable, I haven't seen the last three Doctor Who specials, which are not yet out on DVD, so I was . . . ahem . . . acquiring them online . . .

And then my browser alerts me that this site might have malware . . . but this site is "trusted" . . . so I click ignore.

And then: bang, smash, kaboom.

BSOD.

And then my computer restarted itself. BSOD. And then computer restarted itself. BSOD . . . ad infinitum.

Ugh.

There (probably) goes all my recordings (I'm a musician) and the RPG Maker game I had just finished designing and photos of my deceased niece and so on.

Stupid me!

Anyone else want to share their BSOD stories?

rubah
01-23-2010, 10:58 PM
hook your HDD up as a slave and recover your infos.

Bunny
01-23-2010, 11:05 PM
PM me the link so I can avoid that site. And I'll tell you where to safely find them.

Bastian
01-23-2010, 11:12 PM
hook your HDD up as a slave and recover your infos.

I forgot to mention that I'm possibly the least tech-savvy person here. HDD? Slave? You could be talking about kinky BDSM stuff for all I know. :(

I'm planning on taking it to the neighborhood computer shop. But researching the specific Stop error makes it sound like I'm pretty much screwed. Something about a "corrupted partition" . . .

After glancing over your post again as I type this, I'm guessing HDD is "hard disc drive" and "slave" is probably where I have my laptop connected to another computer as its "master" and then somehow access the files? But that sort of this is beyond my meager comp skills, I think.

Psychotic
01-23-2010, 11:16 PM
If it helps, the Doctor saves the universe.

~*~Celes~*~
01-23-2010, 11:51 PM
last summer, every time my computer overheated, BSOD showed up. It sucked.

Meat Puppet
01-24-2010, 03:43 AM
I would feel pretty lucky if I got a BSoD today.

Rodarian
01-24-2010, 12:20 PM