PDA

View Full Version : Eyes on The Music

Yar
04-04-2010, 07:57 PM
This thread will have many topics, so bear with me.

I started playing the piano in January. I am in love with it. I am more passionate about it everyday. I had always wanted to play but I never had the chance until getting to college. But now, my professor is telling me that I am picking it up very quickly and she is impressed that I have made this much progress in 2 1/2 months. She also told me that she really wants me to take her class next year, and I'm like "yeah I was hoping to. :love:"

Anyway, I have a recital this Thursday, and I'm really excited about it. I'm playing a small piece (that you can find on my Facebook) and I'm confident that I can play it for an audience. For some reason, I'm much more nervous at home that I am when I'm playing in front of someone. :) But I really wanted to learn to play for my own enjoyment rather than for people to hear, although that's just a plus!

So, I would definitely call myself a beginner, but I'm not like newbie-style. I love my piano. :p

Do you play an instrument? How long have you been playing and how good are you? What are some of your favorite songs to play? Do you like playing for people? Also, do you have any rituals that you practice before or after you play? :p

Tavrobel
04-04-2010, 08:07 PM
Do you play an instrument? How long have you been playing and how good are you? What are some of your favorite songs to play? Do you like playing for people? Also, do you have any rituals that you practice before or after you play? :p

I used to play the piano. I don't much these days, but if I cared enough to pick it back up, it wouldn't be very difficult.

Ten years or so. I started at seven, took a break for a year, and stopped at eighteen. I was forced into lessons, because I'm Asian.

Anything that isn't contemporary music. I hate grace notes; jazz and modern music make too much use of rhythm breakers.

No, I do not like playing for people.