PDA

View Full Version : Rosetta...thief?!?!

Unbreakable Will
04-22-2010, 05:38 PM
I've been wanting to learn Japanese for some time now, and I would actually dedicate a vast amount of spare time towards learning it if I found a good way to do so. I checked out Rosetta Stone after several people recommended it (rich or well-off or even mummy-holds-the-money people mind you, im poor). And it's around $206-230 depending on how you order it. ;~; I'm a college student, poor and jobless! I don't have that kind of money, not even my family does and they have jobs!!!

Does anyone know a good free/affordable way to learn Japanese?

Have you learned a second language? How did you do it?

Rye
04-22-2010, 05:42 PM
I took a class for a semester and it was awesome. I learned to read hiragana quite well and a bit of katakana, and some basic conversation skills. I miss taking it.

Fynn
04-22-2010, 05:55 PM
I'm taking a course as well. We mastered both of the kana in the first semeter, now we have regular kanji tests and lots of grammar and speaking, so yeah, it's quite effective and cheap! :)

The Summoner of Leviathan
04-22-2010, 06:24 PM
There's quite a few ways:

Self-teaching, colllege/university courses (see if yours offer any), online courses, language exchange/conversation buddy, studying abroad, text books, etc... You can use one method or combination of them all. As far as learning kana (hiragana and katakana) is concern, you can really do it yourself within two weeks. They are dead simple and become almost second nature the more you read.

Just remember that at first you'll be reading at an elementary kid level. I mean, you could read stuff aimed at an older audience but it will take a lot more time, be much more frustrating and in the end might discourage you.

Also some notes on the methods I mentioned:

Self-teaching: there's tons of resources for learning Japanese online if you want a few that I've come across, hit me up and I will share!