PDA

View Full Version : Characters' names

Inferno
05-04-2010, 07:48 PM
When I started playing, as a young rookie, I thought it was soooo cool to give the characters the names of people I knew. In my mind the game was much more enjoyable ! So, I was Sabin, my cousin was Edgar, my grandfather was Strago, my little sister Relm... and so on.

Did you... do that !?

Flying Mullet
05-04-2010, 08:00 PM
I've named characters in games after pets, but never after people I've known, except for the occasional Eyes on Plays playthrough where I might name characters after forum members.

I do quite often name them silly names or whatever catches my fancy at the moment.

blackmage_nuke
05-05-2010, 10:21 AM
Name them things like "xD" and "Lol" and it makes for amusing conversations

Inferno
05-05-2010, 06:06 PM
Please note that I stopped doing that

Bunny
05-05-2010, 07:34 PM
I named people names of other people from the same game.

Terra was Celes, Edger was Sabin, Setzer was Umaro, etc

Rebellious Eagle
05-05-2010, 11:58 PM
Not really. I just named Celes after myself because she's my favorite female character. :D

Flying Mullet
05-06-2010, 01:17 AM
Me too! :bigsmile:

theundeadhero
05-06-2010, 02:15 PM
I name game people after my friends all the time. I decide who gets named who based off personality and relationship to the main character.

*Laurelindo*
05-06-2010, 05:18 PM
I like using pronoun-type names, because this allows them to always make sense in the game script.
For example, naming someone "my ass" can result in extremely funny conversations.

"my ass has magical powers."
"You're the spitting image of my ass!""
"Gotta wait for my ass...!!!"

Hot Shot
05-06-2010, 05:59 PM
I never did that because it just seems wrong to rename characters who have such strong personalities. I did however do that with I, II (sometimes) and III because they don't really have that much character and (in the case of I and the original III) they didn't have any names.

Pop Frank Socket