PDA

View Full Version : Crane style kung fu

Inferno
06-02-2010, 06:32 PM
I was watching this show called "Fight science" last weekend, and there was this guy (http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/series/fight-science#tab-Videos/07717_00), who was a Crane style kung fu expert. So he's standing on tiny platforms on 2-4-6 and 8 feet high poles (!), and he had to dodge the ninja stars that another dude was throwing at him ! You have to watch the video to see how amazing he was ! I thought it was pretty cool ! I'd love to learn that fighting style, if I had the time to.

So... any martial arts experts here !?

Hot Shot
06-02-2010, 06:41 PM
I love Fight Science, it's an amazing show, and this guy is something else! I'm not an expert martial artist but I study, or rather studied, Tae Kwon Do. MY eldest brother studied Shotokan Karate and my other brother studied Tai Chi and Wing Chun.

Peegee
06-02-2010, 06:55 PM
The only thing I will say about Martial arts is that I have studied karate for years. I can do karate but at the time I didn't know how to fight.

Food for thought.

Christmas
06-02-2010, 11:08 PM
I learnt a bit of martial arts before, and I was dissappoint when they tell me I won't be able to shoot a blue fireball from my hand like what Ryu did. :(

The stuff that I practice are mainly Taichi and Changquan / Long Fist if I remember. :bigsmile:

Mirage
06-02-2010, 11:24 PM
Not an expert, but I got 10th kyu in kyokushinkai karate today, which is the lowest, except white belt (which is mukyu, and means "no grade").

Hambone
06-03-2010, 01:03 AM
I used to be in gymnastics...it should count. :|

Mo-Nercy
06-03-2010, 01:18 AM
Back in my rugby playing days, I used to elbow and knee the opposition when I was at the bottom of the ruck. This was high school, so the referees were quite inept.

Does that count?

qwertysaur
06-03-2010, 04:33 AM
Second degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do. :p