PDA

View Full Version : Final Fantasy X...

Lamia
06-06-2010, 10:05 AM
It's weird. Final Fantasy X at the time made me about as upset as FFXIII did for a lot of people.

Final Fantasy X was linear. Very linear. The game forces you through the story and the formula is as follows: cutscene, trail, boss fight, town, trial/temple, cutscene, trail, boss fight...ect ect

You think having no towns is bad? Try having NO DUNGEONS. The trials with the sphere puzzles do not count for me. I was terribly upset that there isnt any dungeons in the storyline. The only dungeon in the game is optional.

The critics nor did anybody else didn't mention it's linearity or the lack of dungeons... :confused: So, why the heck is FFXIII getting so much flack? It really doesn't make any sense.

BarelySeeAtAll
06-06-2010, 11:01 AM
I'm no expert, but maybe because XIII was so anticipated and had so many expectations, because the makers could really go to town, and everything that was bad before should have been sewn up and made better?

Like I say, no expert so..don't jump down my throat please. People have nasty habits of doing that, when all I be trying to do is answer a question in my own words.

Shin Gouken
06-06-2010, 11:21 AM
Personally for me, i felt FFX told its story better. With Tidus being thrown into an unknown world, people are helpful and fill him in on the things he needs to know, but FFXIII dumps you in the middle and pushes the plot forward without explaining anything.

FFX didn't feel that linear to me. It may have been the puzzle solving, or the fact that there were still half a dozen towns to explore, and not only the calm lands but the thunder plains and bikanel island were very big open places.

Also, the cloister of trials, chocobo racing, blitzball, hidden aeons, the monster arena and other additional things broke up the formula of walk-battle-cutscene which you can argue reduces at least the feel of the linear paths.