PDA

View Full Version : Developing a new game idea.

Iceglow
07-23-2010, 01:17 AM
Hi there guys, I'm sure most of you know by now I've worked in the past as a games developer. Well unfortunately the game I worked on for several years is closing due to threatened legal action by the original creator who left the project years earlier. (when I say left, he abandoned it and didn't care one way or another for around 5 years. In fact he built a poorly coded LoTR rip off which was purely designed as an LOTR thing, we ripped most of his code out and replaced it, re-wrote everything to move it in a direction away from the original idea and yet he's actually got a case because the game is under french law sucks right?) Well one of the players there was considering making his own game done in a similar vein to the game I worked on and contacted me since I am a writer who also has a good knowlege of what the process should be and how to manage it even if I can't code at all myself. Well his idea is to do a straight swords and sorcery fantasy game nearly 90% the same as the game I've just worked on. However I had an idea for maybe something a little different. My idea was perhaps to include a early form of Steam Punk to the atmosphere of the game, not quite bringing the game up to victorian era but introducing powder weapons (flintlocks primarily) and steam mechanisms to the game which would obviously provide a whole wealth of enemies and quests to do. I feel a true fantasy style game with steam punk hasn't been properly done before and could be interesting. I'm willing to write out a story, create the idea behind this and develop the world personally as a living thing. However I'm curious to know what EoFF thinks.