PDA

View Full Version : The Character of Reno

Forsaken Lover
07-29-2010, 06:32 AM
So as anyone who's played FFVII knows, Reno is a Turk for Shinra. He displays cold efficiency at some times but this is just his job. Other times he's pretty chill and just one of the guys almost.

Then comes Advent Children. Reno becomes bumbling comedic relief and if you've seen a picture of him iN AC you know he has the look of someone with mild mental retardation.

Naturally i complained about this on some forums. However I've been told and read multiple times that the character of Reno in FFVIi was very different thanks to the translation.

Now I'm used to myths and rumors but this seems like a possibility so I'm just wondering if anyone can confirm or deny if his personality is different in the original Japanese version of FFVII and in what way(s)?

silentenigma
07-29-2010, 05:25 PM
I'm not a japanese expert but would like to give my two cents:

It sounds like someone was grasping for an excuse for Reno's change of character in the movie. Look at his body language in the original and how he plays off of Rude's personality. If you ignore his dialogue, it doesn't even make sense that his lines would be "bumbling comedic relief." He's obviously down-to-business, if slightly eccentric and egotistical. Some call this "bad ass." Elena was the comic relief of the Turks in the game - why would they make two in an organization that's supposed to be considered intimidating?

Besides, the translators were obviously competent - they caught so much of the humor in all the other characters throughout the game. It doesn't make sense to me that they'd just arbitrarily change Reno's character.

Anyway here's an alternate translation (http://www.ff7citadel.com/gameinfo/textfiles/infil.txt) to a scene with Reno in it (Midgar Underground scene). He doesn't seem to be any more of a humorous character here than he is the official translation.