PDA

View Full Version : Newcomer to FF

turikkusta4
08-26-2010, 01:43 AM
I'm fairly new to the Final Fantasy games. I've played a bit of some of the games but hardly enough to complete them, and now I want to actually complete one, starting with FFVI.The only problem I have is deciding what version to get.

There's the PSone version, which I've read is good for having the music the way it was executed originally and had better use of colors compared to the GBA version. By they way, I'm not concerned with load times.
Then there's the GBA version that I've read has a much better script but the music is not only of lower quality, but some instruments are emphasized in a displeasing way. The music also continues to play rather than fade out during scenes that were originally more dramatic and powerful because of these fade outs.

So, which one should I get? I wish I didn't have to choose between script or music, but sadly this is the case. Please, tell me your thoughts.

Depression Moon
08-26-2010, 02:02 AM
If it was me I would've chosen the pS1 version that's what I played on. I found it fine and there is still the SNES version which was called III instead. I would personally go for either of those two. It feels more pure if you can get the original and I think Anthology is the least changed version plus it comes with V so that's a +

Wolf Kanno
08-26-2010, 02:40 AM
Its a tough choice. Yes the GBA has worse music and the color is a bit faded, but good god the script is so much better... Basically, you will be choosing between the original with the original silly Woosely script which isn't terrible but the characters lose a bit of themselves in the translation and the plot feels a bit more disjointed thanks to some quirky translations here and there. It doesn't seem so bad if you play if without experiencing the other.