PDA

View Full Version : Beachplug Blues

>_<
10-03-2010, 11:30 AM
Hi guys,

I started playing FFVII again and this time I want to aim for master materia, something I've never bothered to do in the past, but I'm having trouble getting enemy skill slots filled. I've just spent a good hour fighting Beachplugs and trying to get them to use the Big Guard skill. Is the strategy guide wrong? I thought they might only use the skill when their HP's are very low, but I'm having trouble delivering a blow that leaves them with a few HP's. Any thoughts or tactics on attaining enemy skills would be much appreciated. :)

Regards

Levian
10-03-2010, 12:32 PM
You don't need to get enemy skills in order to get Master Command materia if that's what you're aiming for.

Anyway, you need to use manipulate on the beach plug in order to get it. It will never use big guard on its own, and they will most definitely not cast it on you, since it's a protective spell and all. Same thing with Zemzelett and White Wind, Zemzelett will never cast white wind on you, so you have to manipulate it. Beach plugs are easily manipulated, so once you know what to do, it should be a breeze!

>_<
10-03-2010, 05:27 PM
Thanks for the info. The irony is, I'm trying to experiment with all the materia I never really used in the past. Just goes to show how stuck in my old ways I am. Must experiment more. :redface:

Thanks again. :)

Saber
10-04-2010, 02:13 AM
If you plan on mastering four enemy skill materias then you need to wait until disk 2 or 3 to finish the Yuffie/wutati side quests. Trine is used by Godo in the final floor. Another thing is the Zombie Dragon only uses Pandoras Box 1 time and that is the first one you encounter. He is in the northern cave at the path to the right. All other enemy skills can be found whenever.

>_<
10-04-2010, 10:28 AM