PDA

View Full Version : 4.0 the new 8.8?

Madame Adequate
10-07-2010, 06:23 PM
Gamespot's review is out and oh man it's harsh

Final Fantasy XIV Online Review for PC - GameSpot (http://uk.gamespot.com/pc/rpg/finalfantasy14/review.html?tag=topslot;thumb;1)

Will this be another one of those infamous reviews which gets retracted? Will we see a repeat of the Darkfall Online Eurogamer incident? Do you agree?

Judging from this, and to my NO SURPRISE WHATSOEVER, the interface alone is enough to completely turn me off.

Del Murder
10-07-2010, 06:34 PM
Bah, restricted at work. Need to remember to check this out when I get home.

Jessweeee♪
10-07-2010, 06:36 PM
I'm not very experienced with MMOs, but I always thought those "cons" were true of all of them :confused:

Madame Adequate
10-07-2010, 06:45 PM
Not to rain on FFXIV, as I say I've not played it so I can't judge it properly, but I can certainly say that the cons do not apply to all or even most MMOs. The very reason they're such a big deal is because they are so elementary.

Absolutely miserable interface - Not true in ANY paid MMO I can bring to mind outside of the FFs and EVE Online. And EVE mostly takes getting used to, it does what it does because it has to, not because they decided that dragging a skill onto a hotbar was a bad idea. Maybe The Saga of Ryzom too, but even that wasn't close to how bad this sounds.
Does a poor job of communicating important information - Can't really think of any MMOs which fall down here, except perhaps EVE.