PDA

View Full Version : Japanese Vocabulary

Yar
10-15-2010, 07:08 AM
I'm studying Japanese in college.

SO FAR, I'm actually pretty good with grammar. Writing and reading aren't too difficult for me either.

Vocabulary is what kills me. Our textbooks are useless when it comes to vocabulary. It gives the oddest words, some of which I don't even care to know yet. The book has taught words for "earthquake", "train crash", "dead-end" and "appointment", but still hasn't taught useful words such as "dog", "mother", "dinner" etc etc

So, I want to know if the otaku on EoFF know of any good sites or books that have useful vocabulary lists.

I'm constantly confusing my roommate. He gets frustrated when I can't tell him something simple like I'll be going to dinner with my family, but then I surprise him with strange statements about how I was riding my bicycle before it broke down at the intersection near the front of the library. :|

Oh and if you have some crazy way to learn things like this, tell me! I'm stuck with flashcards that have different colored words on them. It gets boring after a while, and I really forget that stuff pretty easily.

rubah
10-17-2010, 12:24 AM
my french teacher was the same way. One of the last verbs we learned in the first year was "to be".

Yar
10-18-2010, 06:27 AM
How did rubahs learn french

And dont you dare say "immersion"

rubah
10-18-2010, 02:04 PM
I practiced the numbers by playing ff2! I'd get into a battle and start using the select/cancel trick and count in french how many times I'd selected so I'd level up one spell every battle xDDD

and it was high school, so we would all practice by speaking it to one another.

Listened to radio.fr quite a bit

and study abroad 8D

Wolf Kanno
10-19-2010, 12:31 AM