PDA

View Full Version : Ludicrous difficulty spike

playedemall
07-15-2011, 01:08 AM
I just started playing this again on PSP, and I just got out of Lindblum to go to Burmecia. Suddenly, in the random battles, I'm getting totally, utterly and completely ANNIHILATED by these pathetic, ordinary monsters. One hit kills with fire spells and physical attacks that take off half your life bar at a go. I'm having to use a phoenix down and several potions after every single battle (i.e. about every 45 seconds).

I don't remember the game being this totally and utterly impossibly hard first time around. What is going on?

Mirage
07-15-2011, 01:13 AM
Maybe you're underleveled, I don't remember any stuff like that. You'll probably level up fast now with those strong dudes, though.

playedemall
07-15-2011, 01:40 AM
Maybe you're underleveled, I don't remember any stuff like that. You'll probably level up fast now with those strong dudes, though.

Could be, but like you I don't remember it being like this. I haven't played it for ages though, so could be that my memory's off.

I don't know about the levels though. I just this moment got Quina in the party (he came in at level 9) and he was just taken out of a battle in two hits, a spell which took off 2/3 of his life and a hit which took off the rest. And this was a typical random battle, not a boss fight. Absolutely ridiculous.

One of the reasons I love(d) the PS1 FF games was because they are pretty easy. I know many people think that's a minus, but for me an RPG is all about the flow of the story and the gameplay, and having to replay boss battles 30 times and having to heal your entire party after every single random battle really stops the player from getting into the game's rhythm. My friend once sent me an FF1 emulator, and I started playing it out of historical curiosity. My entire party was wiped out by the second random battle, at which point I realised that there was no point in playing it any further.