PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about jobs you've had, Eyeson.

Pike
01-14-2012, 05:34 PM
Here's the scoop: I'm working for a sinking ship retailer and they're cutting my hours all over the place. So I'm currently looking for another job.

I have no experience with anything aside from retail and as such I'm kind of scared to apply for anything that isn't, well, retail. But I don't want to start applying for a bunch of jobs at random with no idea what I'm getting myself into. So what I'm asking for is this: what sorts of jobs have you had in the past? What were they like? Were they easy to get into? Etc. Hearing other peoples' experiences might give me a better idea of what to look for or consider. Thanks in advance, friends <3

Oh, and I know this is General Chat, but let's try to keep this one at least marginally on-topic, shall we? :greenie:

Jessweeee♪
01-14-2012, 05:52 PM
My current job is my first. I'm a secretary for a new US branch of an international company. There are complications with getting visas for my bosses and any international employees right, so right now I'm pretty much being paid to sit and browse EoFF eight hours a day and maybe answer a couple of phone calls and send a fax or two. When the bosses are able to be in the country, I do whatever they are too busy to do, or I do tasks that would typically be assigned to a professional in that field. My boss once asked me to see if I could find a place I could take a three month course to do paralegal stuff because the actual paralegals had to be paid like paralegals. So basically I do things that an accountant, marketing professional, or paralegal would do, but my boss and I have an understanding that he's getting exactly what he's paying for, that being a minimum wage employee with no college education.

Shiny
01-14-2012, 05:52 PM