PDA

View Full Version : Putting all my eggs in the oven

Melissaur
02-18-2012, 06:14 AM
Hello Folks. As many of you may know I'm on my way to getting my dream job. Being a baker for a delicious dessert company

http://tipsytreatstn.com
(http://tipsytreatstn.com/)
The basis for the company is liquor infused desserts. Yummy, no?

If you frequent EoFF's chat or are friends with on this thing called Facebook, you may have heard about it, then for the past couple days I have been carrying on about a job that I am super excited about. Although if neither of these apply then let me give you a bit of background.

I have been cooking and baking for over 10 years now. It started when I was moved up to Vermont at the age of 12. Anyone who has ever been to Vermont may know that most of the state is located in Bumfudge Nowhere. My mother, unfortunately, had a job about an hour drive from home and didn't get off work until 6:30-7 pm so I took it upon myself to cook dinner for the family because I hate eating after 8. Being in the kitchen was so natural for me it became more of a hobby than an obligation of mine. Cooking, and more so, baking are very relaxing for me. For a while i have wanted to go to culinary school but never had the chance or funds to pursue this, also the thought of HAVING to cook scared me a bit, for fear that I might come to dislike, or even hate cooking. I have never been one to enjoy stuff that I HAD to do. Anyways, a few days ago I was searching Craigslist for a job that might fit into my life so I could make some money for myself and I had come across a company looking for bakers. I almost had a heart attack. I emailed them immediately and soon later received a phone call from the guy running the business. He wanted me to come in for an interview. This is when I really started to freak out. This was perfect, everything I have ever wanted to do was, presumably, falling right into my lap. He had asked me to bake something to show him if could which I spent