PDA

View Full Version : DS Version: Augment this, jerks.

fire_of_avalon
06-23-2012, 04:15 AM
I really don't understand what I'm supposed to be doing with the Augment system. Rosa was all just HAY CECIL HERE'S A THING and I was super "THX BB" and now I just find them around places.

And it's like a crazy person dumpster diving. "Oh look at this shiny thing! Better put it in the basket." Only it's a thousand old timey alarm clocks that I don't know how to operate.

Sephex tried to help me by linking to an old thread (yes I know this game has been out for four years, leave me alone! I get behind and I'm old!) but I'm just not smart enough to figure that out.

Pretend I'm six years-old again and this is my first time playing FFIV. Explain how the augment system works and, more importantly, advise me if it has an important impact on gameplay or if it's just something for those collectors out there.

Wolf Kanno
06-23-2012, 05:58 AM
Augments serve two purposes.

1) They allow you to teach characters new skills, often abilities from former characters. For instance, you can give an augment to Cecil that gives him Yang's Counter ability, allowing Cecil to counter as long as he has the skill equipped. This basically allows you to keep useful skills from party members who leave due to story reasons.

2) After something like Lv.70, your character stats go up based on what augments they have equipped so for instance, Counter gives bonuses to physical stats and Twin magic gives magic stat bonuses. In order to get max stats, you need to give certain augments to certain character. This is why the game only allows you to do New Game + 3x. This feature is only useful if you plan on challenging the games super bosses.