PDA

View Full Version : Party Evaluation - GBA Version

Alpha2099
06-27-2012, 05:07 AM
Just started a new game of the GBA version of FF1 on a whim tonight. As per usual, I used a Random Number Generator to pick my team for me. The result was: Monk, Thief, White Mage, Black Mage. It's interesting, as I've never played without a Fighter before.

The immediate pros I see to this: Quick power early from Monk and Thief, cheap to equip everyone.

The cons I see: Lack of overall defense (these guys are going to take some lumps), I'll have to lean on the Mages a lot to help the Monk and Thief, and the money I save on equipment will probably have to go to buying lots of restorative items.

Anyone have thoughts on this pairing? And I do plan to go through all the bonus dungeons with this group and such.

Sephex
06-27-2012, 07:38 PM
I like it. I have never tried that party before, so I think that's what I am going to do the next time I play FF no matter what version I play. I recently beat it late last month (emulated NES version), so I won't be playing it any time soon.

You nailed it with the pros and cons. Buy lots of restorative items like you plan on doing and you should be fine.

Alpha2099
06-27-2012, 08:22 PM
I like it. I have never tried that party before, so I think that's what I am going to do the next time I play FF no matter what version I play. I recently beat it late last month (emulated NES version), so I won't be playing it any time soon.

You nailed it with the pros and cons. Buy lots of restorative items like you plan on doing and you should be fine.
Yay! For once I knew what I was talking about. :D

ReloadPsi
06-29-2012, 12:52 AM