PDA

View Full Version : Computer Vs Tablet

Jentleness
07-13-2012, 06:09 AM
My husband tells me he wants to buy a new laptop for work and I was thinking about giving him my laptop (I just bought it last September) and getting a tablet for myself. Now that I am no longer in school I realized that all I ever really use my laptop for is to chat and browse the internet, and once in awhile I use the kindle app or play a game of spider solitaire. When I do these things I usually have my laptop on my lap while I lean back against a stack of pillows on my bed. I was thinking that a tablet would be a lot easier to do this with and would be a lot more portable and easier to use than my smartphone when I am away from home. However, I am not tech savvy so I'm not even sure if tablets are all they are cracked up to be or if they're just the new fad. So, my question is for all of you who are techys out there:

What are the pros and cons of ditching my laptop for a tablet?

:hello:

Alpha2099
07-13-2012, 02:34 PM
Tablets are more portable, and if you only use it for basics like email and such, that's really all you need.

However, if you ever get the itch to start gaming, you'll be out of luck. You also can't really download much of anything, and I doubt you'd be using Microsoft Word on there for anything.

Shorty
07-13-2012, 04:21 PM
It seems like an expensive gadget to use for just the basics, as mentioned above. Having one would be nice, but my phone has about as much space and does just about everything a tablet can. They're neat and portable but the cost of say, a brand new iPad vs. what it can actually do is a little ridiculous.

If they could start packing 500 gigs or something, I might be more inclined to get one.

Sylvie
07-13-2012, 06:07 PM
I think tablets are stupid and I think touch screens are stupid. Your money will be better spent on a fully functioning computer and not something that has been dumbed down so that it looks futuristic and simple.

Pike