PDA

View Full Version : Living away from home for the first time!

KentaRawr!
08-30-2012, 02:58 PM
The age range here at EoFF is definitely pretty large, so this could either be something you're looking forward to, something you're doing for the first time (like me!), something that's long past, or anything in-between.

I'm in my second year at the University, but this is my first year where I'll be living in a dorm instead of commuting. In my case though, I'm not really cut off from my parents. I've yet to find a job on or near campus, so my Mom is still handling things like my groceries, admittedly. To say I'm "independent" would be silly considering how much I'm relying on her still.

Having lived away from home in this way before (on a much smaller scale, of course), it doesn't feel jarring at all. And because I already know the campus I'm living on pretty well, I don't feel lost. I'm still visiting my mom on the weekends too, so I don't feel cut off at all. Maybe I'll make a thread about independence once I'm actually there!

For now though, this thread is just about living away from home and your first experiences with it, or if you haven't moved away from home, what you're looking forward to, and whether or not you expect to move out. I'm curious! :p

Tigmafuzz
08-30-2012, 03:38 PM
Define "home."

KentaRawr!
08-30-2012, 04:26 PM
Define "home."

This is really different for lots of people, but for this let's just say home is where your parents or guardians or whatever live, assuming you lived with them growing up.

Raistlin
08-30-2012, 04:27 PM
I originally moved out freshman year of college. It wasn't shocking or jarring at all. Though it was better a couple of years later with my first apartment so that I could cook for myself instead of having a meal plan, because those were ripoffs.