PDA

View Full Version : Difficulty Levels

Formalhaut
01-27-2013, 09:58 PM
Many games adopt difficulty levels to allow the player the option of tuning the game based on his/her abilities, and they often select a wide variety of levels to choose from, in fact, the highest levels sometimes have to be unlocked.

So, what difficulty levels do you choose when playing a game? For me, I'm somewhat of a wuss when it comes to difficulty. When I played Uncharted, I went straight for easy. When I am playing any genre where I'm not very good at AND I can die (As an aside, I really hate dying/losing in a video game) I always start off with a low difficulty level. I know it's cheap, and probably weak, but I cannot stand dying.

So what difficulty level do you most likely play? Included is complimentary poll.

Mirage
01-27-2013, 10:21 PM
If I play a game just for the story, I'll go for easy. Otherwise, I go for normal, then increase that if I want to play it again later and thought it was too easy.

I don't often play games just for their story though. That would usually only be if I'm playing it because I in reality want to play its sequel, and just want to hurry through the first one.

It can also happen that I select easy in a type of game that I am very unfamiliar with, although the number of such games is pretty low at this point in my life.

Chris
01-27-2013, 11:11 PM
On the first playthrough? The easiest mode. There's nothing more that will take away your passion for a game, than a game that keeps kicking the stuffing out of you. On my following turns, I always choose the hardest mode.

Mirage
01-27-2013, 11:12 PM
even in Ninja Gaiden?

Shauna
01-27-2013, 11:13 PM
Normal erry day (for first runthroughs). Subsequent plays will have a harder difficulty mode. :3

Bolivar
01-27-2013, 11:44 PM
Almost always medium. It's how the developers intended the game to be played. Subsequent playthroughs I do harder or hardest, trophies are always a good incentive.