PDA

View Full Version : No Bad Guy, but Bad Situation?

Crop
03-11-2013, 12:38 AM
So...aside from Seymour being all weird and wanting to kill everyone, is there a major antagonist in the game?

As I've been playing through it, I don't think there is. They seem to say that Yu Yevon/Sin is just going on instinct now and can't act any other way, I just killed Yunalesca and she genuinely seemed to think that there is no other way to beat Sin other than the Final Summoning.
I know Yevon is corrupt but they just seem to be like a government wanting to remain in power. I'd probably say they're the most evil in the game, but come on, they're no Shinra.

Don't get me wrong I love the game, but usually with Final Fantasy you have one main villain who is the main antagonist that the world is in danger from. Correct me if I'm wrong though, I'm no expert on the game.

Cloudane
03-11-2013, 12:45 AM
Quite true that, I think Seymour is the main "bad guy" and Yu Yevon / Sin is more of a Necron type character that is just "there" until you ensure he's not (but a bit less out of the blue)

Sephiroth
03-11-2013, 12:46 AM
Seymour is the main antagonist and villain. He just is not the final boss for a more dramatic storytelling when it comes to something more important. Could he have appeared after the final battle, absorbed Yu Yevon and become the ultimate enemy? Sure. But the story was supposed to focus on some other aspects. They could have been the main aspects even with him being the final boss but then it would not be exactly the same dramatic thing.

I consider Sin to be the true villain.

[Sin] is just an Id. It cannot be a villain.

Karifean
03-11-2013, 12:49 AM
I consider Sin to be the true villain. Over the entire game, its devastating power is showcased (Zanarkand, Kilika, Operation Mi'ihen) and the objective of the game is to rid the world of it. It all builds up to a final battle where the world may finally be freed of the destruction Sin causes.