PDA

View Full Version : Learning another language.

Jinx
03-26-2013, 09:42 PM
I swear this isn't one of those WHAT LANGUAGES CAN YOU SPEAK thread. Although it does sort of tie in.

I know a lot of people here are multilingual. I'm currently learning American Sign Language (which, admittedly, is a tad different, as you use your hands instead of talking) and I have two years experience with French.

My question is for, those of you who speak more than one language, what did you do to help learn it?

I'm having some trouble learning ASL (and if anyone else speaks it, let me know!) although, I did a 2.5 hour study session today, and made flash cards, and just kept going over and over what I've already learned. It helped me to remember quite a bit of different signs I'd forgotten.

Do you use flash cards? Music? Writing/repetition?

kotora
03-26-2013, 11:13 PM
Start with the basics. Buy some textbooks, get into the basic sentences, learn how the sentences are structured ands how the grammar works. Practice is the key. Using lots of different media is also helpful. Books, tv, films, music, whatever. You gotta put in lots of hours of being exposed to the language. Better yet, get to know some native speakers and practice with them.

Being skilled in a language in a certain language group (such as Latin or Slavic languages) definitely helps. You've got a headstart leaning Spanish or Portuguese because you already have some familiarity with french. The grammar is very similar, as well as a large part of the vocabularies.

Araciel
03-27-2013, 01:06 AM
The only thing that worked for me was living in a French only place.... I tried to relearn it but no dice. Watching movies in French kinda helped.

Shiny
03-27-2013, 01:23 AM
Different things work for different people, but I think for the most part, living in a country where their primary language is something other than you're unaccustomed to, is the best way to learn that language.

chionos
03-27-2013, 02:14 AM