PDA

View Full Version : Do you think game publishers today rely too much on their existing franchises?

Formalhaut
04-25-2013, 04:01 PM
I found this poll (http://www.gamefaqs.com/poll/index.html?poll=5065) in GameFAQs daily poll today, and I think it's a brilliant topic for discussion!

Think about it. Think of every FPS during the modern era. How many times do you look down a gun scope, doing pretty much the same thing? The Call of Duty franchise hasn't really changed much, neither has the Battlefield games or whatever FPS franchise it is.

It's also trickled into other platforms. The Mario franchise has hardly done wonders since it's introduction (besides Galaxy to be honest) and Sonic The Hedgehog has really epically failed, not having a good game in years.

I'm no expert on the history of games, you guys are more hardcore experts and know more than I do, so I'll ask you: do you agree? Do publishers rely too much on existing franchises? Is there any independent, outstanding, standalone game?

One example for me is TWEWY. Now that was a new game that blew me away.

Discuss.

TrollHunter
04-25-2013, 04:11 PM
Yes i feel that it is the case in most cases. Existing IP is easier to market as it already has a dedicated fanbase, easier to make as you already have the core concepts layed out, and its just a safer bet.
New IP is also extremely important but a lot of devs arent willing to make the risk.
Hell, look at clover studios
They shat out interesting and amazing new IP like godhand and okami but they sadly failed in the market. Its a huge risk.

Shoeberto
04-25-2013, 04:29 PM