PDA

View Full Version : I wanna Fan remake VII, anyone else?

jesparchaos
06-20-2013, 05:58 PM
You know, I have been thinking about this for years. After seeing how successful b (http://www.blackmesasource.com/)lack mesa source did (I can't link it, too new of a member), I though it would be a fun side project. I am a game developer and know my way around a couple of game engines :). Was wondering who else would be interested? My only concern is that square has shut down fan projects before. I was hoping that if permission was asked ahead of time and since:
A) it would obviosuly take a loooonnngg time to do it, and
B) Square made it clear they wont remake it anytime soon

Anyway, I was just curious who would be interested? With some of the tools today, I really dont see this being too difficult to do, just would take a very long time to make it look good, even with a ton of people.

Mirage
06-20-2013, 06:05 PM
You want to fan remake?

In either case, I don't, really. It is pretty unrealistic to expect fans to make anything that would be a good remake anyway. There is an incredible amount of assets that would need to be made.

jesparchaos
06-20-2013, 06:11 PM
Ya it would, but I am looking at it as a hobby. If it takes forever, that's ok. I am not trying to get it out next year, I just think it would be fun to see some of these areas in full 3D. With engines like Unity, a good chunk of the work is just making the assets, which I know people already do just for fun anyway.

And look at black mesa, that was a fan project. It looks amazing.

Jinx
06-20-2013, 06:46 PM
C&D, brah

C&D

Mercen-X
06-20-2013, 09:19 PM