PDA

View Full Version : FINALLY, bloody speed square!

Formalhaut
07-26-2013, 04:22 PM
So, as you may or may not know, I am playing FFVII for the first time. I say first time, I watched my older brother play it through to it's entirety, so I know most of the plot and everything, but this is my first time playing it.

And so this play-through has been going on now for a good few months, so you're expecting me to be deep into Disc 3 right?

Actually I've only just gotten past the first visit to the gold saucer. I know right.

The reason for this huge time frame is the damned Speed Square. I'm quite the completionist, and I really, really, really wanted Aerith's umbrella. It's attack power is pretty incredible given her natural alacrity towards magic, not strength, so I wanted to see it in action. More importantly, it's unobtainable after getting the airship so I wanted it now.

So a few months ago, I started doing that accursed rollercoaster in the speed square to attempt to get 5000 points. I tried many a time, but for the life of me I could never get that magical number. Many times I got around 3500, maybe the 4000's. Never got 5000.

It got to the point that I actually quit my game for awhile to take a break because I just couldn't get 5000! Oh it was so annoying. A few months later...

...yesterday, I finally got the bloody umbrella. It was incredibly tough, but I got 5214 points. I scraped through, so to speak. And oh... I could finally progress through to the story. I've never ever reached past Gongaga. But now, with that burden off of me, I can finally go past.

But that's before I do the optional sidequests, such as the superb levelling spot in Junon (the alarm trick), the next Fort Condor battle, getting the mythril, and boosting my second Enemy Skill Materia up.

But after all that... finally I can get on with the game.

So, share your experiences with the bloody Speed Square.

Pumpkin
07-26-2013, 04:58 PM