PDA

View Full Version : Is this game romantic?

Spooniest
07-30-2013, 06:50 PM
Now, it's easy for me to say that the romance in FFVIII doesn't cut the mustard. It certainly ain't no Romeo and Juliet.

But I wonder if I'm being fair. I'm a pretty embittered cynical vicious prick about romance. I've never been in a relationship that went well, period, not even my marriage.

If I drop all pretense of "sophistication" or "aesthetic criticism," the very simple question remains:

When Squall decides to tell Esthar to shove it and springs Rinoa from her impending imprisonment, and they embrace for the first time (the moment teased in the intro, and in fact the logo), do I feel anything?

Related: Being a musician myself, I have to say that I don't agree with popular opinion about "Eyes On Me." Its cadences do hint at a non-native English speaker having written it, but am I allowed to play judge and jury over other cultures? Is it mere arrogance to say that because it isn't "To Make You Feel My Love" by Bob Dylan, that it's a bad song?

In short, I suspect that this love story is maligned not because it's poorly done, but because of the distaste gamers have for anything that tries to be sweet.

Jinx
07-30-2013, 06:53 PM
no

Spooniest
07-30-2013, 06:57 PM
Why not

Shorty
07-30-2013, 07:07 PM
Yes, it is.

Pumpkin
07-30-2013, 07:11 PM
Yes, very.

Spooniest
07-30-2013, 07:27 PM
Are we a bit uncomfy going into detail about this subject?

We're adults now, people...some of us are even starting to get old (namely, me)!

Jinx
07-30-2013, 07:28 PM
I just don't think an emo asshole and an annoyingly needy bitch falling in love is romantic. The only thing they have in common is that they're completely unlikable.

FFVIII is romantic in the exact same way Twilight is romantic.

Scotty_ffgamer
07-30-2013, 08:08 PM