PDA

View Full Version : Your thoughts on emulators

Lone Wolf Leonhart
12-04-2013, 05:59 AM
From what I understand emulators themselves are legal, but the games? Not so much.

I can understand not downloading new games, but what about old games?

So what if I want to play a Sailor Moon game on the Super Nintendo? The only people currently making money off of those titles are the collectors who sell them on ebay. There's no harm in emulating games that are no longer sold.

Do you play emulators? To what extent? Should you be allowed to play copyrighted games if they're no longer sold by the company?

Bunny
12-04-2013, 06:14 AM
Nice try, narc.

Ayen
12-04-2013, 07:33 AM
I'm not a lawyer but I think it's mainly games that are currently in stores that are illegal. Older games that are off the market and the company is no longer making money off of is a different story and a game that was never released in America isn't costing anyone money since there were no games over here to purchase in the first place.

Psychotic
12-04-2013, 07:46 AM
I think from a moral perspective, playing any game that is no longer sold is fine. I don't do it very often but I've done it for a few NES and SNES games, mostly old Final Fantasy titles before they were re-released on formats that I have access to.

Dr Unne
12-04-2013, 07:53 AM
I'm (mostly) against pirating new games. I don't do it. I want game companies to continue to exist and make more games. I want indie developers to be able to afford food. But NES era? SNES era? PSX era, even? I say pirate at will. Pretty sure it is actually illegal (in the US), but whatever. The law in this case is stupid. I don't believe people should be able to make a thing and then sit on the copyright for the rest of their lives. Thankfully in this case the law seems to be mostly unenforceable.